50 Pioneers

For the last fifty years faculty, staff, students, trustees and members of the community have been blazing new trails, assuming new roles and responsibilities, or pushing the envelope. These pioneers have set the stage for continued innovation at Kennesaw State.

Morris Barrett
Barrett was the College’s property control officer and warehouse supervisor, and was the first person to be given the Kennesaw College Outstanding Staff Employee award in 1983.
Dr. George Beggs
Hired in 1966, political scientist George Beggs was the first faculty member at Kennesaw. He later became chair of the Division of Social Sciences and dean of the School of Arts and Behavioral Sciences.
Fred Bentley, Sr.
The Bentley Rare Book Gallery is named in honor of Fred Bentley Sr., member of the Kennesaw College Foundation and generous donor of rare books and art to the University. Mr. Bentley is also a former state legislator and Cobb Chamber of Commerce president.
James V. Carmichael
James V. Carmichael was a prominent statesman and businessman who overcame serious physical challenges suffered as result of a near fatal accident. During his service on the Board of Regents he was instrumental in persuading the board to build a new student center at Kennesaw Junior College, named for him after his death in 1972.
Dr. Herbert Davis
A longtime chair of the Natural Sciences and Mathematics Division, Davis was promoted to the new position of dean of the School of Science and Allied Health as part of the conversion from divisions to schools in 1984. He was also one of the first people on campus to invest heavily in technology.
Dr. Robert Driscoll
The former chair of Kennesaw Junior College's Educational Division, Driscoll became the first dean of the School of Education during the conversion from divisions to schools.
Terri Ferguson (Arnold)
When hired in 1971, Arnold was the first African American secretary at Kennesaw. She worked in the Offices of Student Affairs and Business & Finance for more than forty years.
Robert Dobbs Fowler
As the editor of the Marietta Daily Journal, Fowler headed the steering committee that pushed for the current location of the college. Due to a generous endowment from the Fowler family, KSU’s Robert D. Fowler Distinguished Chair in Communication perpetuates his memory.
Robert “Bob” Garrison
As the newly retired president of the Arrow Shirt Company, Garrison agreed to become the first chairman of the group that created the KJC Foundation and played a central role in the campaign to convert Kennesaw into a four-year college.
Dr. Robert “Bob” Greene
Greene was appointed as KJC’s first librarian in 1966, and retired after twenty years in 1986. During his time at Kennesaw, he embraced new technologies, including an early online catalog.